skip to main content skip to accessibility policy

Articles & Updates – Details

9 August 2010

Serbia Accedes to the European Patent Convention (EPC)

David Al-Khalili

Serbia (RS) will be bound by the EPC on 1 October 2010 (from which RS will no longer be an EPC extension state) bringing EPC Contracting States total to 38.  

As of 1 October 2010 the 38 member states of the European Patent Organisation will be:

  • Albania
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Monaco
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • San Marino
  • Serbia
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Turkey 
  • United Kingdom
Bookmark and Share

Follow us

Newsletter subscriptions

In support of our environmental policy we encourage email subscriptions to receive our patent and trade mark newsletters as soon as they are published. Please send your contact details to

For RSS users

Our RSS news feeds allow you to see when we have added new content to our website so you can get the latest site updates in one place, as soon as they are published.

Social media

Privacy Policy

We are committed to protecting and respecting your privacy. To understand our views and practices regarding your personal data and how we will treat it please see